2006 Student Research Conference:
19th Annual Student Research Conference

Fine Arts

Bruch: Violin Concerto in G Minor II. Adagio III. Finale: Allegro energico
Christina M. Scheperle
Dr. Sam McClure, Faculty Mentor

German composer Max Christian Friedrich Bruch (1838-1920) considered his Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor to be one of his greatest works. Written as a conservative, German romantic piece, it was dedicated to Joseph Joachim, his virtuoso violinist friend. The first movement, Prelude: Allegro moderato, almost caused Bruch to name this work as a fantasia. This movement follows unusual form; the extended exposition opens with the violin using a free or almost improvisational spirit alternating with the orchestra. The developmental material is combined with the recapitulation, a shorter version of the exposition. The rich second movement, Adagio, is slow and full of emotion. It captures tension, form, and a beautiful lyrical melody. The third movement, Finale: Allegro energico, brings back the theme as vibrant double-stops and continues with joy. Bruch uses sonata-allegro form, yet also employs recitative. All three movements tie together and provide a tasteful, exciting, and virtuosic violin concerto.

Keywords: Bruch, violin concerto, Germany, Joseph Joachim


Presentation Type: Performance Art

Session: 46-2
Location: OP 1393, Performance Hall
Time: 3:00

Add to Custom Schedule

   SRC Privacy Policy