2014 Student Research Conference:
27th Annual Student Research Conference

Brahms Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78
Sarite D. Brown♦
Dr. Sam McClure, Faculty Mentor

Brahms Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78 was written in 1879 in Portschach, Austria. It is the first of his three published violin sonatas. The three-movement work was written shortly after Brahms wrote his violin concerto in 1878, around the same time that Brahms godson, Felix Schumann died at the age of twenty-four. This sonata was written as a memorial to Felix. The dotted rhythm motif unifies all three movements together and represents a cyclic form from the beginning of the first movement to the beginning of the third movement. Today I will be playing the second and third movements of the sonata. The second movement, written in expanded ternary form and marked Adagio, has a funeral march quality. The third movement Allegro molto moderato, is a rondo that exudes hopefulness and happiness and brings the piece to a quiet and tender ending.

Keywords: Brahms, Sonata, violin


Presentation Type: Performance Art

Session: 2-3
Location: OP Performance Hall
Time: 1:30

Add to Custom Schedule

♦ Indicates Truman Graduate Student
   SRC Privacy Policy