2012 Student Research Conference:
25th Annual Student Research Conference

Integration of Baroque and Contemporary Elements in the Fugue Movement of Bloch's Concerto Grosso No. 1
Shantay R. Guyton♦
Dr. Warren Gooch, Faculty Mentor

In 1925 Ernest Bloch composed his Concerto Grosso No. 1, a four-movement work for string orchestra and piano obbligato. During this time period, Bloch conducted the student orchestra and taught composition at the Cleveland Institute of Music. His students believed that a work could not be interesting if it was composed using forms of the past. Bloch's intent for Concerto Grosso No. 1 was to demonstrate to his pupils that a piece could embody the vitality of traditional approaches while still retaining the vigor of a twentieth century work. The presentation will discuss how Bloch was successful in combining Baroque and Classical elements with contemporary techniques in the Fugue movement of Concerto Grosso No. 1, resulting in a work that was still original despite having a foundation constructed from musical characteristics of two past eras.

Keywords: Bloch, Concerto Grosso No. 1, Fugue


Presentation Type: Oral Paper

Session: 202-4
Location: OP 2117
Time: 10:15

Add to Custom Schedule

♦ Indicates Truman Graduate Student
   SRC Privacy Policy