2011 Student Research Conference:
24th Annual Student Research Conference

Prokofiev's Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94 bis
Nicole S. Moore♦
Dr. Sam McClure, Faculty Mentor

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) was a neo-classical composer, pianist and conductor who became well known for composing singing melodies over contemporary harmonic chord progressions. He wrote his Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94 bis in 1944, which was transcribed from his Sonata for Flute and Piano, Op. 94 (1943) at the request of violinist David Oistrakh. Prokofiev did not alter the piece harmonically, leaving the piano part untouched, but rather added many techniques idiomatic to the violin such as double stops, chords, harmonics and pizzicato. Both the third and fourth movements are great examples of his use of simple yet lyrical melodies over harmonies that are both clear and contemporary in nature.

Keywords: Prokofiev, Sonata, Violin


Presentation Type: Performance Art

Session: 2-3
Location: OP Performance Hall
Time: 10:00

Add to Custom Schedule

♦ Indicates Truman Graduate Student
   SRC Privacy Policy