2011 Student Research Conference:
24th Annual Student Research Conference

Mozart Concerto No 4 in D Major
Shantay R. Guyton♦
Dr. Sam McClure, Faculty Mentor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed his fourth violin concerto in 1775 when he was only nineteen years old. Mozart was under service of the Salzburg court at this time. It is thought that Mozart originally composed five concertos in total for his own use. Mozart was the courts violinist, but Antonio Brunetti, a highly accomplished violinist later acquired Mozarts position, and wished to perform his concertos. Mozart revised and updated the violin writing in the pieces, though there is no evidence as to whether or not it was rewritten for Mozart himself to play or Brunetti. Either way, Mozart's fourth violin concerto is the most animated and brilliant of his five concertos. Because it is written in D Major, the strings vibrate more freely and ring longer, adding to the sparkling quality of the piece. Mozarts fourth concerto is frequently performed even to this day.

Keywords: Mozart, Violin, Concerto


Presentation Type: Performance Art

Session: 1-1
Location: OP Performance Hall
Time: 8:00

Add to Custom Schedule

♦ Indicates Truman Graduate Student
   SRC Privacy Policy