2008 Student Research Conference:
21st Annual Student Research Conference

Twelve-Tone Dances: A New Composition for Saxophone Duet
Timothy J. Rebers♦
Dr. Warren Gooch, Faculty Mentor

Twelve-Tone Dances is a duet for alto saxophones in three movements composed using the twelve-tone serial technique developed by Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951). Unlike traditional tonal music, this music is unified by the selection and consistent use of a single ordered series of the twelve chromatic pitches. This series or tone row may be manipulated by playing it at different pitch levels, in reverse, inverting it, or any combination of these techniques. In this composition, the first movement, Waltz, is inspired by the rhythmic implications of that dance style. The second movement, Interlude, explores harmonies without a distinct rhythmic or metrical basis. The third movement, Funk, is inspired by more modern dance rhythms. Serialism or atonal music is often deemed to be harsh or difficult to listen to. The composer has attempted to create a piece of music which is challenging yet rewarding for both audience and performer.

Keywords: music, saxophone, Schoenberg, serialism, twelve-tone, duet, atonal, woodwind


Presentation Type: Performance Art

Session: 10-4
Location: OP Performance Hall
Time: 9:00

Add to Custom Schedule

♦ Indicates Truman Graduate Student
   SRC Privacy Policy